This is the "Home" page of the "Biographies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biographies  

This guide helps you locate basic biographical information about people from almost any type of career. Many of these sources will also include photos.
Last Updated: Jan 7, 2014 URL: http://libguides.elcentrocollege.edu/bio Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Best Bets for Research!

Ready to Start Researching?

The DATABASES tab will give you the BEST databases for finding information on almost ANY topic! 

Below are a few of our "best bets" for this topic. 

If you don't find what you want here, click on the DATABASES tab for more databases!

Biography Reference Bank  - BEST BET!

One of the best sources of information about people - includes information about their early life, career highlights and awards, recent events, and pictures!  

eLibrary Curriculum

One of the best sources for pictures but also includes quite a few biographical articles.  Includes NPR interviews also. (Tutorial)

Student Research Center

Our largest database, searching over 20 other databases.  This database as a TAB titled "Biographies".  It also is a good source for pictures.  Includes TV and radio interviews.  

BOOKS & eBOOKS: will help you find and offer tips on using print, reference and online books.

Gale Virtual Library searches your topic from over 50 different online reference books.  Subjects include:  science, religion, business, and more.

Encyclopaedia Britannica     Tutorial   
Quick and easy answers by searching any/all of Encyclopædia Britannica, Britannica Student Encyclopedia, Britannica Elementary Encyclopedia and Britannica Concise Encyclopedia.

WEB SITES: gives you tips on how to evaluate information on the web - check out some of the examples.  Are these credible sources or not?  How can you determine this?

ASSIGNMENTS and TUTORIALS: offers tutorials on how to locate books, search the databases, using PowerPoint and more!  The ASSIGNMENTS area gives you step-by-step directions on how to complete your assigments, along with sample  and grading rubrics.  Handouts that will help you can be found in the HANDOUTS section.


      
     

    Contact Us

    We look forward to meeting you in person, by email or virtually!

    Questions/Reference:
    Downtown: 214-860-2174
    West:  972-391-1433
    Bill J. Priest: 214-860-2174
    In Person:
    Downtown: B200
    West: 105
    Bill J. Priest:  2300
    Circulation:
    Downtown: 214-860-2175
    West: 972-391-1427
    Bill J. Priest: 214-860-5780
    About Us

    facebook button

    NoodleTools!

    NoodleTools:
    Give Credit to Your Sources in
    APA, MLA or Chicago

    Login:
    Personal ID = student ID number
    Password = last name

        

      Research & Help: Select a Topic

      Click the pulldown arrow and select a topic or course you want to do research for OR start at the
      Research Starting Guide:


          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip