Skip to main content

A Research Starting Guide: Home

Not sure where to go or how to start your research! This guide is where you'll find the "best bet" starting points for almost any research.

Research & Help: Select a Topic

Ready to Research? 

Where to Start?

Our goal is to introduce you to the best sources of information on almost any topic!

Click the pulldown arrow and select a topic or course you want to research!


OR start with the BEST BETS listed below: 

 

eLibrary Curriculum    (Tutorial)
A smaller database that includes biographies, NPR, news and TV transcripts, magazines, and e-books. One of the best sources for pictures since it includes many Getty Images. Includes charts, graphs, and short video clips.

Student Research Center  BEST BET for Hot Topics!
Includes articles, pictures, biographies, country reports, news, transcripts, and e-books, photos and maps.

SIRS Researcher     (Tutorial)        TIP:  Popular magazines and news ONLY
Includes a list of suggested ethical/opposing topics.  Includes: charts, graphs and pictures, country reports, and maps.

Academic Search Complete   TIP:  Best for getting both scholarly and popular!
Articles from over 4,000 newspapers and magazines. TIP:  click CHOOSE DATABASES (above the search box) and then click "select all > ok" to search over 10,000 publications!

The DATABASES tab offers a longer list of databases to choose from.

Ask A Question

Feel free to ask for help!

Ask A Librarian

Choosing "El Centro" from the list of campuses will ensure that a librarian familiar with your assignment will assist you.

OR Call: 214.860.2174

NoodleTools!

NoodleTools:
Give Credit to Your Sources in
APA, MLA or Chicago

Login:
Personal ID = student ID number (no e)
Password = last name

 

Contact Us

We look forward to meeting you in person, by email or virtually!

Questions/Reference:
Downtown: 214-860-2174
West:  972-391-1433
Bill J. Priest: 214-860-2174
In Person:
Downtown: B200
West: W138
Bill J. Priest:  2300
Circulation:
Downtown: 214-860-2175
West: 972-391-1427
Bill J. Priest: 214-860-5780

About Us

facebook button

http://cicsjackson.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/10/twitter-follow-us.png