This is the "Home" page of the "Study & Test Taking Tips" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Study & Test Taking Tips   Tags: accuplacer, research, studying, test taking, tests, writing  

Tips for how to study, test taking, memorizing, taking notes, time management, school, and sample tests.
Last Updated: Jul 28, 2013 URL: http://libguides.elcentrocollege.edu/tests Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Welcome!

i for information

Welcome to the El Centro College Library
Research & Help Guides.

We look forward to meeting you in person, by email or virtually!  

This guide will introduce you to the best sources of information from databases that offer information on almost any topic!

Ready to Start Researching?

The DATABASES tab will give you the BEST databases for finding information on almost ANY topic! 

Below are a few of our "best bets". 

If you don't find what you want here, click on the DATABASES tab for more databases!

Student Research Center  BEST BET!
Great database for Speech and English research papers.  Includes articles, pictures, biographies, country reports, news, transcripts, and e-books!  Good source of basic statistics.  Includes: photos and maps

SIRS Researcher     (Tutorial)       
Includes a list of suggested ethical/opposing topics.  Also includes country reports. Summaries includes good information for Speech attention/motivators.  Includes: charts, graphs and pictures, and maps.

eLibrary Curriculum    (Tutorial)
A smaller database that includes biographies, NPR, news and TV transcripts, magazines, and e-books. One of the best sources for pictures since it includes many Getty Images. Includes charts, graphs, and short video clips.

BOOKS & eBOOKS: will help you find and offer tips on using print, reference and online books.

Gale Virtual Library searches your topic from over 50 different online reference books.  Subjects include:  science, religion, business, and more.

WEB SITES: gives you tips on how to evaluate information on the web - check out some of the examples.  Are these credible sources or not?  How can you determine this?

ASSIGNMENTS and TUTORIALS: offers tutorials on how to locate books, search the databases, using PowerPoint and more!  The ASSIGNMENTS area gives you step-by-step directions on how to complete your assigments, along with sample  and grading rubrics.  Handouts that will help you can be found in the HANDOUTS section.


      
     

    Contact Us

    We look forward to meeting you in person, by email or virtually!

    Questions/Reference:
    Downtown: 214-860-2174
    West:  972-391-1433
    Bill J. Priest: 214-860-2174
    In Person:
    Downtown: B200
    West: 105
    Bill J. Priest:  2300
    Circulation:
    Downtown: 214-860-2175
    West: 972-391-1427
    Bill J. Priest: 214-860-5780
    About Us

    facebook button

    NoodleTools!

    NoodleTools:
    Give Credit to Your Sources in
    APA, MLA or Chicago

    Login:
    Personal ID = student ID number
    Password = last name

        

      Research & Help: Select a Topic

      Click the pulldown arrow and select a topic or course you want to do research for OR start at the
      Research Starting Guide:


          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip