Ask Us for Assistance
Need Reference help?
You can reach us:
By eMail: Ask A Librarian
By Phone:
Downtown - 214-860-2174
West - 972-391-1433
In Person:
Downtown - B200
West - 105
Need Circulation help?
Downtown - 214-860-2175
Bill J. Priest - 214-860-5780
West - 972-391-1427
Helpful Library Links
Details...
Your student ID card is your library card.
You may check out up to 4 books at a time and up to 10 books total.
Loans are for 3 weeks, and you may renew once.
All books must be returned by the last day of class.
Librarians
Feel free to contact any of your librarians for help!
Norman Howden
214-860-2176
email: norman@dcccd.edu
Linda Baker
214-860-2174 or 2177
email: lindabaker@dcccd.edu
Mary Ann Bolton
214-860-2180
email: mbolton@dcccd.edu
Joe David
214-860-2174
email: jdavid@dcccd.edu
Margarette Jones
214-860-2174
email: MJones1@dcccd.edu
Paula Pereira
214-860-2179
email: paulapereira@dcccd.edu
![]()
Welcome!
Welcome to the El Centro College Library
Research & Help Guides.
We look forward to meeting you in person, by email or virtually!
This guide will introduce you to the best sources of information from databases that offer information on almost any topic!
Ready to Start Researching?
The DATABASES tab will give you the BEST databases for finding information on almost ANY topic!
Below are a few of our "best bets".
If you don't find what you want here, click on the DATABASES tab for more databases!
Student Research Center (Tutorial) BEST BET!
Great database for Speech and English research papers. Includes articles, pictures, biographies, country reports, news, transcripts, and e-books! Good source of basic statistics. Includes: photos and maps
SIRS Researcher (Tutorial)
Includes a list of suggested ethical/opposing topics. Also includes country reports. Summaries includes good information for Speech attention/motivators. Includes: charts, graphs and pictures, and maps.
eLibrary Curriculum (Tutorial)
A smaller database that includes biographies, NPR, news and TV transcripts, magazines, and e-books. One of the best sources for pictures since it includes many Getty Images. Includes charts, graphs, and short video clips.
BOOKS & eBOOKS: will help you find and offer tips on using print, reference and online books.
Gale Virtual Library searches your topic from over 50 different online reference books. Subjects include: science, religion, business, and more.
WEB SITES: gives you tips on how to evaluate information on the web - check out some of the examples. Are these credible sources or not? How can you determine this?
TUTORIALS: offers tutorials on how to locate books, search the databases, using PowerPoint and more!
STEPS in WRITING A PAPER: walks you through the steps on how to research - from how to pick a top to turning in your paper! It will also give you tips on organizing a paper and giving credit to your sources.
GIVING CREDIT: MLA, APA, CHICAGO: offers examples and tutorials on how to give credit to your sources. NoodleTools will help you with this!
TIP: This section includes NoodleTools tutorials.
PLAGIARISM: What is it? How can I avoid it?
Did You Know?
Did you know that the Library has:
- Dallas papers on microfilm dating back to 1855?
- New York Times on microfilm dating back to the 1924?
- Census records for Dallas County dating back to 1850?
We can help you find…
- Dictionaries: foreign, translations, definitions…
- Scholarships, grants, fellowships, loans
- Resumes, cover letters, interview skills...
- Colleges: location, telephone numbers. costs, programs…
- City of Dallas directories…
- Dallas MAPSCO and Fort Worth MAPSCO
- Magazine & newspaper articles (including the Dallas Morning News & New York Times)
And More…
- Elected & government officials: information on local, state, and national officials and their staffs…
- How to books: dress for success, get a job, study skills, learn about computers, medical problems, raising children...
- Consumer Reports
- Reproducible income tax forms for the current tax year
- Bestsellers - updated weekly
- Cookbooks galore
Additional Services
- Photocopying: located on the main level in the room next to the stairwell. Another machine is on the upstairs level. Copies are 10 cents a page
- Internet access and free Wi-Fi
- Interlibrary(ILL)/Intercampus Loan(ICL): request forms are in the catalog. ILL's are requests made outside the DCCCD and may take up to three to four weeks.
- Personalized instruction: how to's on using the library, locate information, WWW, and more
Search by Topic
- A Research Starting Guide
- Accounting
- Biographies
- Biology and Microbiology
- Books
- Business
- Careers & PSYT
- Chemistry and Physics
- Computers and Technology
- Constitution Day
- Consumer Help and Information
- Criminal Justice
- Culinary & Hospitality
- Cultural Studies
- Education
- Elections
- Entrepreneurship
- ESOL/ESL
- Faculty Quick Links
- Fashion
- Financial Aid and Scholarships
- Fire Protection
- Genealogy
- Geology, Environmental Science and Other Sciences
- Government
- Health & Medicine
- History
- Humanities & and the Fine Arts
- Interior Design
- Learning Framework
- Libraries
- Literature
- Math
- Medical Assisting
- Music
- Mythology
- News & Current Events
- Nursing
- Paralegal and Law
- Philosophy
- Pictures
- Psychology
- Radiology
- Religion
- Respiratory Therapy
- Science
- Sociology
- Speech
- Sports & Fitness
- Study & Test Taking Tips
- Surgical Technology
- Texas
- Theater
- Ultrasound/Sonography
- Welding
- Women
How To Use Research & Help Guides
Click on the TAB to go to that specific section of the guide.
To go to the main El Centro College Guides home page, click on the El Centro Research & Help Guides Home link at the top of the screen.
To go to the main El Centro Collge Library web site, click on the Library Home link at the top of the screen.


Loading...
