This is the "Home" page of the "Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science   Tags: botany, periodic table, science  

Guide to the sciences: basics, history, botany, periodic table, famous people involved in the sciences, environment, and more!
Last Updated: Jul 28, 2013 URL: http://libguides.elcentrocollege.edu/science Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Welcome!

We look forward to meeting you in person, by email or virtually!  

Ready to Start Researching?

The DATABASES tab will give you the BEST databases for finding information on almost ANY topic!  Below are a few of our "best bets".  If you don't find what you want here, click on the DATABASES tab for more databases!

Student Research Center    BEST BET!
Great place to find information from journals, magazines, newspapers, eBooks and the image gallery.

Today's Science
Great starting place! Includes encyclopedia articles about a variety of topics relevant to science.  Includes glossary of terms, general articles and images.  This is a small database - don't get discouraged if it doesn't have what you are looking for.

Academic Search Complete
Articles from thousands of publications! For more articles, click the link for CHOOSE DATABASES (above the search box) and then click "select all" > ok.  This offers the largest number of databases + most articles!

OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition
Good articles from hundreds of publications relevant to science, geology, weather, environmental topic!

The BOOKS & eBOOKS tab will help you find and offer tips on using print, reference and online books. 

Gale Virtual Library
Searches your topic from over 50 different online reference books.  You can email, download and print out the chapters. 

Facts on File Virtual Library of eBooks

The WEB SITES tab gives you links to recommended web sites on this topic, including major associations.

The ASSIGNMENTS, TUTORIALS, RESEARCHING/WRITING A PAPER  tab gives you tips on organizing a paper and giving credit to your sources. This section will also talk about plagiarism. The tutorials show how to locate books, search the databases, using PowerPoint and more!

      
     

    Contact Us

    We look forward to meeting you in person, by email or virtually!

    Questions/Reference:
    Downtown: 214-860-2174
    West:  972-391-1433
    Bill J. Priest: 214-860-2174
    In Person:
    Downtown: B200
    West: 105
    Bill J. Priest:  2300
    Circulation:
    Downtown: 214-860-2175
    West: 972-391-1427
    Bill J. Priest: 214-860-5780
    About Us

    facebook button

    NoodleTools!

    NoodleTools:
    Give Credit to Your Sources in
    APA, MLA or Chicago

    Login:
    Personal ID = student ID number
    Password = last name

        

      Research & Help: Select a Topic

      Click the pulldown arrow and select a topic or course you want to do research for OR start at the
      Research Starting Guide:


          
        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip