Best Bets for Research!
We look forward to meeting you in person, by email or virtually!
Ready to Start Researching?
The DATABASES tab will give you the BEST databases for finding information on almost ANY topic! Below are a few of our "best bets". If you don't find what you want here, click on the DATABASES tab for more databases!
Student Research Center BEST BET!
Great place to find information from journals, magazines, newspapers, eBooks and the image gallery.
Great starting place! Includes encyclopedia articles about a variety of topics relevant to science. Includes glossary of terms, general articles and images. This is a small database - don't get discouraged if it doesn't have what you are looking for.
Academic Search Complete
Articles from thousands of publications! For more articles, click the link for CHOOSE DATABASES (above the search box) and then click "select all" > ok. This offers the largest number of databases + most articles!
OmniFile Full Text, Mega Edition
Good articles from hundreds of publications relevant to science, geology, weather, environmental topic!
The BOOKS & eBOOKS tab will help you find and offer tips on using print, reference and online books.
Gale Virtual Library
Searches your topic from over 50 different online reference books. You can email, download and print out the chapters.
The WEB SITES tab gives you links to recommended web sites on this topic, including major associations.
The ASSIGNMENTS, TUTORIALS, RESEARCHING/WRITING A PAPER tab gives you tips on organizing a paper and giving credit to your sources. This section will also talk about plagiarism. The tutorials show how to locate books, search the databases, using PowerPoint and more!
Bill J. Priest: 214-860-2174
Bill J. Priest: 2300
Bill J. Priest: 214-860-5780
Give Credit to Your Sources in
APA, MLA or Chicago
Personal ID = student ID number
Password = last name
Research & Help: Select a Topic
Click the pulldown arrow and select a topic or course you want to do research for OR start at the
Research Starting Guide: